„…WERD ICH ZUM AUGENBLICK SAGEN…“

“When to the Moment I shall say,
‘Linger awhile! so fair thou art!’”                                                                                                                                  (Goethe, “Faust”, lines 1699-1700)
We get richer thanks to every positive moment of our lives that we are able to capture and retain. The Ukrainian poet Maxim Ryls’kyi advised that such moments should be “inscribed” in one’s heart – they will be a real godsend when you drift into old age as if into a quiet haven after a long voyage.
Today is the last day of the long winter holiday – “Western” Christmas with the New Year plus Orthodox Christmas. That was the time when I was my real self – not rushing anywhere, doing some housework, enjoying the company of my “close and own”, reading, observing, thinking… Tomorrow it’ll be different. It’ll be the old rut again. Whatever. Here are some moments of the last three weeks.
December: making shelves in the pantry. I always like doing some carpentry at home. After all, carpentry is an occupation mentioned in the Bible, which makes you feel more important than you really are 🙂 Quite frankly, I take pride in the job I have done: twelve solid shelves with probably half of the domestic items on them now!
The corporate party at the company where I work.  I’m happy that the two people who are very special to me – my wife and my daughter – really enjoyed it.
January: A trip to the town of my youth – some 200 miles south of Kyiv. Again I walked through the narrow streets of the old part of the town, read Kurt Vonnegut’s “Palm Sunday”, saw the New Year in with my mother and my brother’s family and took snapshots of the town and the frosty trees outside the window. The trees are waiting for the coming spring, and …again for me, as I’m writing this blog in Kyiv. They will be green by the time I come next.

Leave a Reply

