AN INSTANT

When I was coming home after work today, it was already dark. The temperature was up from yesterday’s minus 25 to the pleasant minus 10-12 degrees. Light snow was falling and street-cleaners were shoveling it vigorously away. I knew that my wife had been staying inside all day long, so I said: “It’ll be a shame if we don’t take a walk round the lake now. There’ll hardly be another chance to see such beauty. Not this year, at least. Let’s get going!”

I’m happy that I haven’t let the beautiful moments pass away. They remained on my mobile: the glowing lanterns, the softness of the snow, the high-rises perforated with window lights, and my wife – as young and beautiful as she was on a winter evening like this… forty years ago.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

