OF PEOPLE AND PICTURES

2015-05-20MOM-METhe first picture of me was taken 65 years ago. I was smiling into my Dad’s camera while my Mom squatted by my side to support the toddler from falling off his feet. My friends say now that with my big bald head slightly covered by a country feller’s cap and with the solid corn stalks in the background I resemble the Soviet premier Nikita Khrushchev at the peak of his “maize campaign” in the 1960s after he returned from the U.S.A. in 1959.2015-05-20Khrushchev's maize campaign2

My latest image: an optimistic pensioner in a black-and-red track suit looking forward to talking with his 5-year-old granddaughter via Face Time. After a few minutes the granddaughter, periodically casting professional glances (as she was taught at school) at Granddad’s face in her Dad’s (my son’s) smartphone, 2015-05-20will draw my picture in her writing pad: a bespectacled face, a broad smile, short hair, dimples (rather wrinkles) in my cheeks, big ears. A spitting image of what little Sophia saw in her video box.2015-05-20ME2

I am enjoying the picture drawn by Sophia, as well as the photo of my tiny artist standing on her tiptoes against the blue expanse of the sky and sea … So far she does not know anything about Vasco da Gama or Ferdinand Magellan, William Adams or Francis Drake, James Cook or Horatio Nelson… But those are the same waves, the gusts of the same wind and the blueness of the same sky that made those people great.

 

2015-05-20 (2)

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “OF PEOPLE AND PICTURES”

  1. Olia Says:

    Thank you for the entry 🙂

Leave a Reply

